New Council members

Apr 20, 2016
The Council has extended its current membership by adding two newly appointed judicial members.

The Right Hon. Lord Boyd of Duncansby and Sheriff Sean Murphy QC were appointed as Council members on 15 April 2016. 

In terms of the Scottish Civil Justice Council and Criminal Legal Assistance Act 2013, the Council can have up to 20 members. With these additional appointments, the previous 17 members will now be increased to 19. 

As the tenure period for inaugural members is due to expire, a membership review has been carried out. Following the review, the Chair of the Council, the Lord President, Lord Carloway, has decided to make the new appointments. 

Lord Carloway said: “The new appointments are a welcome addition to the Council. Since its inception the Council’s work has continued to grow with the introduction of simple procedure among other reforms proposed in the Scottish Civil Courts Review. The additional members will assist us in taking this work forward.” 

The Council is responsible for preparing draft rules of procedure for the civil courts and advising the Lord President on the development of the civil justice system in Scotland.  

Providing Feedback

The SCJC welcomes feedback on any aspect of court rules.

Please email your comments to the Secretariat