SCJC 10 June 2013 Paper 4.4A

The Personal Injuries User Group (PIUG)

The Personal Injuries User Group ("the Group") was set up in 2003 by the then Lord President (Cullen) in response to recommendations contained in the Coulsfield Report published in the same year. Although its creation was discussed at the meeting of the Court of Session Rules Council on 30 June 2003, the group was set up by the Lord President rather than the Rules Council.

The purpose of the Group was to monitor the operation and effectiveness of the new Personal Injuries Rules which were implemented in April of that year and the Group has continued in a similar vein ever since. The Group has also prepared responses to consultations and reviewed statistics in relation to waiting times etc. In recent times the constitution of the Group has expanded to include representatives from the sheriff court. A list of the current membership is noted below.

Lady Paton was the first chair the group and she was appointed on the basis that as an Outer House judge (as she then was) she would have hands-on experience of dealing with claims under the new rules. Upon her elevation to the Inner House the baton was passed to Lady Dorrian and then recently to Lord Jones.

The Group meets, generally, three or four times a year and in the past the secretariat support has been provided by the legal staff in the Private Office. It has been agreed, however, that this will pass to the Deputy Principal Clerk of Session, though a Deputy Legal Secretary (Chris Nicholson) will continue to attend the meetings for the Lord President's interest and to facilitate any legislative drafting suggested by the Group. The Group also maintains good links with the administrative judge for the Outer House, currently Lord Hodge.

Lord Jones, Chair
Amber Galbraith, QC
Maria Maguire, QC
Andrew Henderson, Thompsons Solicitors
Fred Tyler, Balfour & Manson, Solicitors
Gordon Keyden, Simpson & Marwick, Solicitors
Sheriff Mackie, Edinburgh Sheriff Court
Sheriff MacKenzie, Glasgow Sheriff Court
Catriona Whyte, Legal Aid Board
Hamish Goodall Scottish Government
Gillian Prentice, Deputy Principal Clerk of Session, SCS
Chris Nicholson, Deputy Legal Secretary to the Lord President

Secretariat; Yvonne Anderson, Depute in Charge, Offices of the Court of Session, SCS